Looking for a good book to read? Here are my next reads for October

ImageImageImageImageImage

Since taking on this blog, I’ve managed to complete about one book per week, so I thought it would be a good idea to plot out my books for the month, in case someone wants to read along. Besides that, I thought it would be considerably easier to have them all ready to go on my Kindle, rather than finish a book and think, “Oh, crap, what am I going to read next?” and then shuffle through the Hugo list and curse the lack of availability of vintage sci-fi downloads.

So, these are the books I plan to read this month, and the order in which I expect to read them:

The Dispossessed by Ursula Le Guin- Vintage sci-fi, Hugo Award winner (1975). Already reading it and I am in love with Le Guin’s prose. Jo Walton’s Among Others inspired me to give Le Guin a shot because she was the favorite author of the lead character. Her writing is beautiful and philosophical. It’s about an alien physicist who visits the planet from which his people emigrated thousands of years prior. His world is anarchical, whereas the world he visits is much like Earth, with a variety of social and economic systems. His reaction to these money- and law-based systems is enlightening.

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N. K. Jemison- I’m excited to read this 2011 Hugo nominee that lost to Connie Willis’ Blackout/All ClearI know little about it, but it seems to be about gods that walk around on earth, and are used and manipulated by the people. It seems like it might be a combination of Neil Gaiman’s American Gods (read but not reviewed) and Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series.

Boneshaker by Cherie Priest- This 2010 Hugo nominee lost to both China Mieville’s The City & The City and Paolo Bacigalupi’s The Windup Girl. While I enjoyed The City, but strongly disliked The Windup Girl, I have been curious to try this novel, which appears to be a steampunk Civil War novel with zombies.

Neuromancer by William Gibson- It’s been a while since I’ve read some real hard sci-fi, and this 1985 Hugo winner seems perfect. It popularized the cyberpunk craze that drove a lot of nineties sci-fi.

Rendevous with Rama by Arthur C. Clarke- In the past few months, I’ve read Asimov and Heinlein, so I better round out my vintage sci-fi reads by adding the final author of “The Big Three.” This space exploration novel won the 1974 Hugo Award and is considered one of his finest works.

I’m excited! New month, new season, and a new “stack” of books to explore.

 

One thought on “Looking for a good book to read? Here are my next reads for October

  1. Mark Arnold says:

    Hi there

    I’m a struggling author and am working diligently on a grass roots marketing campaign. I ran across your blog and thought I would suggest you look into my books. You can check them out at my website at http://www.markarnold.info. Carte Blanche is my latest and I finished a four part series last year called The Apocalyptic Truth. If you are interested in adventure and suspense, I think you will love any one of them. Amazon lets you read the first three chapters free in their eBook format so take a look when you get a chance. You will not want to put any of them down.

    Thanks in advance

    Mark

    Like

Leave a Reply

