The 2014 Hugo Award Nom Nom Noms

The 2014 (and 1939) Hugo Award nominees were just announced at Eastercon in Glasgow! The major deets are here.

And the 2014 noms are… [with my initial thoughts in brackets.]

Best Novel:
Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie (Orbit) [surprise, surprise. Here’s a link to my review.]
Neptune’s Brood by Charles Stross (Ace/Orbit UK) [Maybe he gets better, I tell myself.]
Parasite by Mira Grant (Orbit) [Will her fans back off if she finally wins one?]
Warbound, Book III of the Grimnoir Chronicles by Larry Correia (Baen Books) [No.]
The Wheel of Time by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson (Tor) [No. I read the first three and you can’t make me read more.]

[Overall opinion: Very disappointed. Was hoping to have an excuse to read Christopher Priest’s The Adjacent and Gareth L. Powell’s Ack Ack Macaque.]

 

[But I’m a little more interested in the following categories.]
Best Novella:
The Butcher of Khardov by Dan Wells (Privateer Press)
“The Chaplain’s Legacy” by Brad Torgersen (Analog)
“Equoid” by Charles Stross (Tor.com)
Six-Gun Snow White by Catherynne Valente (Subterranean Press)
“Wakulla Springs” by Andy Duncan and Ellen Klages

Best Novelette:
“The Exchange Officers” by Brad Torgersen
“The Lady Astronaut of Mars” by Mary Robinette Kowal
“Opera Vita Aeterna” by Vox Day
“The Truth of Fact, the Trush of Feeling” Ted Chiang
“The Waiting Stars” by Aliette de Bodard

Best Short Story:
“If You Were a Dinosaur, My Love” by Rachel Swirsky
“The Ink Reader of Doi Saket” by Thomas Olde Heuvelt
“Selkie Stories Are for Losers” by Sofia Samatar
“The Water That Falls on You from Nowhere” by John Chu

Best Dramatic Presentation, long form:
[A bunch of movies I will probably never see unless I am stuck on a plane without a book.]

Best Dramatic Presentation, short form:
Doctor Who, Doctor Who, Doctor Who, Doctor Who, Game of Thrones, Orphan Black [also never saw these]
The 1939 Noms: [I really want to check these out!]

Best Novel:
Carson of Venus by Edgar Rice Burroughs
Galactic Patrol by Edward E. Smith
The Legion of Time by Jack Williamson
Out of the Silent Planet by C. S. Lewis
The Sword and the Stone by T. H. White

Best Novella:
Anthem by Ayn Rand
“A Matter of Form” by H. L. Gold
“Sleeper of Mars” by John Beynon
“The Time Trap” by Henry Kuttner
“Who Goes There?” by Don A. Stuart

Best Novelette:
“Dead Knowledge” by Don A. Stuart
“Hollywood on the Moon” by Henry Kuttner
“Pigeons from Hell” by Robert E. Howard
“Rule 18” Clifford D. Simak
“Werewoman” by C. L. Moore

Best Short Story:
“The Faithful” by Lester Del Rey
“Helen O’Loy” by Lester Del Rey
“Hollerbochen’s Dilemma” by Ray Bradbury
“How We Went to Mars” by Arthur C. Clarke
“Hyperpilosity” by L. Sprague de Camp

Best Dramatic Presentation:
[Pretty much anything by Orson Welles.]

There are lots of other categories so go check them out here (for 1939) and here (for 2014)!

Also, don’t forget the BSFA winners will be announced tomorrow! And the PKD Award was announced last night!

And see my award shortlist page for more SF book award goodness!

14 thoughts on “The 2014 Hugo Award Nom Nom Noms

  1. fromcouchtomoon says:

    And now that I’ve had some time to think, I have decided to cherry pick my reading choices on this list.

    If people would just quit flaming, then the bad guys won’t have any fuel for their rabid fandom.

    Like

  2. Anton says:

    Rather disappointed with the novels as well. I’ve always thought nominating the entire series was odd, even if rules sort of allow it. I actually do enjoy Stross’s stuff (well, some of it), and Neptune’s Brood had some interesting ideas, but it didn’t seem like award material to me.

    Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      I suppose Ancillary will steal the show. It’s probably the most deserving, although I was hoping for a better contest. I’ve enjoyed Grant in the past, but not enough to win an award.

      Like

  3. I like [No.] because it succinctly gets at the sense of futile denial I feel about something named “Book III of the Grimnoir Chronicles” getting nominated.

    I also read the first three Wheel of Time books, which are mostly useful if you need to prop open a door or start a fire. God I hated them.

    Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      When it was first announced, I was like “who the hell is that?” Then Twitter blew up and I realized he was THAT guy you tweeted about months back. The name never made an impression on me.

      It’ll be in the packet. If he turns out to be an amazing author, I’ll eat my words.

      So glad you agree about WoT. I think teenage nostalgia is clouding the minds of otherwise rational readers.

      Like

  4. Anna C. says:

    I’m pretty new to all of this. Could you explain why there are many items not written in 2014 (“Wheel of Time,” “Anthem” etc) that made this nominations list?

    Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      It is confusing. The Wheel of Time is rather controversial but under strict interpretation of the rules, a series can become eligible for best novel during the year of its final installment provided that no piece of it has ever been nominated. Many people are not happy with the WoT fans for grabbing this little loophole and running with it.

      Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      The 1939 works are included for the Retro Awards, because every once in a while, the World Convention votes to include a year that held a World Con, but not the Hugo Awards. I believe 1939 was the first ever World Con. This was before the Hugo’s began, so no works were awarded. 2014 is trying to make that up by hosting a Retro Hugo Award Ceremony. There’s a little more to it, but that’s the gist of it.

      Like

  5. […] The 2014 Hugo Award Nom Nom Noms […]

    Like

  6. Though I haven’t read any of the novels nominated for this year, I have read some nominated in the past few years and like you this year, have been sorely disappointed. Saladin Ahmed’s “Throne of the Crescent Moon,” for example, I thought was just so so. I have been sorely disappointed with a lot of the modern fantasy that I have come across in the past few years, particularly with what I consider a lack of quality writing. I like me some Gene Wolfe kind of writing with my fantasy. Literary quality. I know that’s just me and maybe I haven’t found the right authors yet. Any suggestions?

    Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      I decided to not read for the novel category this year. It felt too much like a chore. But it’s timely that you mention Wolfe because I just added Shadow of the Torturer to my MUST READ list for this fall. He’s been on my TBR list for ages.

      I wanted Crescent Moon to win last year, just because it felt like a fresh take on old idea, but no, it’s not very literary. Most of the stuff I’ve been reading lately is pretty pulpy, but my fall list should be more literary. I love stuff I’ve read from LeGuin, Kim Stanley Robinson, and William Gibson, and I’ve been pointed toward Wolfe and Zelazny for literary fantasy a number of times. If you love Wolfe, you’ve probably already read anything I could recommend. My reading history has been haphazard, and this blog is an effort to fill those gaps.

      Like

      • Really dig LeGuin, and while I have seen the other names of course, have not read them (some Zelazny, though). I am currently reading Claw of the Conciliator (Wolfe’s second book in the Urth tetrology). And based on some of the names you dropped, I would also recommend Robert Silverberg if you haven’t gotten to him yet, particularly the stuff from the mid 60searly 70s.

        Like

Leave a Reply

