2014 Locus Award Finalists Announced!

The 2014 Locus Award Finalists were announced this week. It’s a shortlist that makes a bit more sense than the last one we saw. The winners will be announced at the Locus Awards Weekend June 27 – 29 in Seattle.

I haven’t read Shaman yet, but I love KSR, so I’m glad he got a nod. Also, Wecker and Samatar have been on my radar. And is this the first year King and Hill (father and son) will duke it out for a major award (the Stoker, too!)?

Science Fiction Novel
Madd Addam by Margaret Atwood (McClelland & Stewart; Bloomsbury; Talese)
Abbadon’s Gate by James S.A. Corey (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
The Best of All Possible Worlds by Karen Lord (Del Rey; Jo Fletcher UK)
Shaman by Kim Stanley Robinson (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
Neptune’s Brood
 by Charles Stross (Ace; Orbit UK)

Fantasy Novel
The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman (Morrow; Headline Review) My review here!
NOS4A2 by Joe Hill (Morrow; Gollancz as NOS4R2)
River of Stars by Guy Gavriel Kay (Roc; Viking Canada; HarperCollins UK)
Doctor Sleep by Stephen King (Scribner; Hodder & Stoughton)
The Republic of Thieves by Scott Lynch (Del Rey; Gollancz)

First Novel
The Thinking Woman’s Guide to Real Magic by Emily Croy Barker (Dorman)
The Golden City by J. Kathleen Cheney (Roc)
Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK) My review here!
A Stranger in Olondria by Sofia Samatar (Small Beer)
The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker (Harper)

You can see the full shortlist here. I’m compiling a list of all the 2014 best SF novel shortlists here! And don’t forget the Nebula Awards will be announced next week!

3 thoughts on “2014 Locus Award Finalists Announced!

  1. Matt says:

    I was surprised to see Lynch’s Republic of Thieves among the nominees. I thought it was the weakest of the three Gentleman Bastard novels. Which makes me question everything I’ve written on my blog. MY WHOLE WORLD IS CRASHING DOWN AROUND ME.

    Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      🙂 That’s how I felt when I saw the Hugo noms this year, even though I’ve read enough of the classics to realize these awards have always been BS. It’s still fun to watch.

      I think fan loyalists overrun these fan awards. And conflict-of-interest friendships affect the juried awards. OMG! Book awards are corrupted! Time to build a bunker!

      Like

  2. Anton says:

    I do like Locus shortlists a bit more.
    KSR is a hit or miss with me and Shaman, unfortunately, was a miss.

    Like

Leave a Reply

