2013 Nebula Awards Announced!

The winners of the 2013 Nebula Awards were announced last night in San Jose. The nominees are voted on by active members of the Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA).

The winners are:

Winner: Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK)

Winner: ‘‘The Weight of the Sunrise,’’ Vylar Kaftan (Asimov’s 2/13)

Winner: ‘‘The Waiting Stars,’’ Aliette de Bodard (The Other Half of the Sky)

Short Story
Winner: ‘‘If You Were a Dinosaur, My Love,’’ Rachel Swirsky (Apex 3/13)

2013 Damon Knight Grand Master Award: Samuel R. Delany  (I have his Swords of Aptor that I need to read, and I will be reading Babel-17 in a few months for the WWEnd Grandmaster Reading Challenge.

So far, Ancillary Justice has won nearly every SF award announced this year: the Kitchies, the BSFAs, and the Clarke Award, plus it’s on the shortlist for the upcoming Locus Awards and Hugo Awards. Only the PKD Award went to someone else this year. (de Bodard and Swirsky are also sweeping the SF awards this year.)

Upcoming awards ceremonies include the John W. Campbell Memorial Award and the Locus Awards, both of which will be announced in June.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s