2014 Locus Award Winners Announced!









The winners of the 2014 Locus Awards were announced today in California. The winners were selected by a poll of Locus magazine readers.

The winners are:

Best Science Fiction Novel
Abaddon’s Gate, James S.A. Corey (Orbit US; Orbit UK) 

Best Fantasy Novel
The Ocean at the End of the Lane, Neil Gaiman (Morrow; Headline Review) My review!

Best Young Adult Book
The Girl Who Soared Over Fairyland and Cut the Moon in Two, Catherynne M. Valente (Feiwel and Friends)

Best First Novel
Ancillary Justice, Ann Leckie (Orbit US; Orbit UK) My review!

Best Novella
Six-Gun Snow White, Catherynne M. Valente (Subterranean) 

Best Novelette
“The Sleeper and the Spindle”, Neil Gaiman (Rags and Bones) 

Best Short Story
“The Road of Needles”, Caitlín R. Kiernan (Once Upon a Time: New Fairy Tales)

Best Anthology
Old Mars, George R.R. Martin & Gardner Dozois, eds. (Bantam)

Best Collection
The Best of Connie Willis, Connie Willis (Del Rey)

Best Nonfiction
Wonderbook: The Illustrated Guide to Creating Imaginative Fiction, Jeff VanderMeer (Abrams Image)

Not a lot of surprises, but it does seem that Locus voters like a certain dark and quirky (dirky?) flavor of SF. You can see the full list of awards here.

5 thoughts on “2014 Locus Award Winners Announced!

  1. Aphrodite’s nipples, that is a dirky list.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s