My Thoughts on the 2014 Hugo Noms: Novellas

Voting closed last Thursday for the 2014 Hugo Awards and 1939 Retro Hugo Awards. I managed to read for some of the categories, and here are my thoughts.

BEST NOVELLA OF 2014

My ranking order (best to worst):

Two of the stories in this category were so good they put a goofy grin on my face like a fiction-based narcotic. If you want to be pinned to the couch for most of an entire day, read Six-Gun Snow White (I’m starting to think that Valente can write anything), and “Wakulla Springs” (gorgeous and brilliant, and kind of not really SF, which is the best kind of SF). If you can ignore the terrible art and RPG background that supports The Butcher of Khardov, it’s a basic premise, but well-written, and I enjoyed the characterization. As much as I appreciate Stross’ jabbing at Lovecraft’s limp attempts at horror, “Equoid” is too colloquial and superficial (like a bare-bones, British version of The Dresden Files), and “The Chaplain’s Legacy” was so terrible, shoddy, and formulaic, it made me angry. Had I not been on vacation, my Twitter feed would have been filled with venomous expletives about this story.

It was tough choosing between “Wakulla Springs” and Six Gun Snow White. Ultimately, my top choice is “Wakulla Springs,” which dances at the fringes of imagination like a horror movie that won’t reveal the monster. Both are excellent reads, though.

4 thoughts on “My Thoughts on the 2014 Hugo Noms: Novellas

  1. Redhead says:

    I adored Six Gun Snow White. having read quite a bit of her work, I can tell you that yes, Valente really can write anything. I enjoyed Equoid as well, the novella is part of his Laundry series, of which I’m a big fan.

    It’s going to be an interesting Hugo ceremony, that’s for sure!

    Like

  2. At the risk of repeating myself, your reviews and summaries are possibly the BEST resource ever for this post-grad trying to ease back into adult speculative fiction.

    Also, symptomatically, I have a TON of books to read.

    Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      Thanks! And I think I’ve told you before that I am in a similar position. LOTS of catching up to do!

      Love your Red Mars review, btw.

      Like

Leave a Reply

