Reading Regrets? The 2014 Locus Recommended Reading List

lagoontheracewolves1

Locus Online published their annual Recommended Reading List today.

As usual, I’ve only read a few on the list, but I think I chose well, seeing as there aren’t many on the Locus list that I regret skipping. If I had time to add some new selections, I might look into Park’s All Those Vanished Engines and Winter’s The Last Policeman series (the final installment, World of Trouble, is listed), and Harkaway’s Tigerman keeps popping up enough to intrigue me, although the blurb doesn’t really appeal to me.

As for fantasy, I regret not reading Higgins’ Wolfhound Century series (the sequel, Truth and Fear, is listed), Paul’s The Bees seems mighty interesting, and I’ve read good things about Rickert’s The Memory Garden.

And Bête and A Man Lies Dreaming are not yet available in the U.S. Grrr.

My 2014 reading rundown has been updated to include my final thoughts on Okorafor’s Lagoon, which I ended up really enjoying. I will also add my thoughts on my current read, Claire North’s The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, which is surprisingly absent from the Locus list.

We should be getting the shortlists for The Kitschies and the British Science Fiction Association awards any day now…

 

 

21 thoughts on “Reading Regrets? The 2014 Locus Recommended Reading List

  1. Rabindranauth says:

    I literally just grabbed The Book of Strange New Things and The Boy Who Drew Monsters after seeing this list.

    I can’t wait for Lagoon! The Book of Phoenix also looks really interesting from Okorafor. I checked out The Bees, but the blurb on Goodreads immediately lost me with a Hunger Games reference. I’m still going through it, a few of the books listed there are already noted as this year’s PKD Award nominees.

    Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      Ooh, I can’t wait to see what you think about Strange New Things and The Boy Who Drew Monsters!

      Hunger Games ref about The Bees? That would turn me off, too.

      I didn’t notice the PKD crossover. I’m ignoring that shortlist this year because what planet are they from? I guess I should go look again.

      Like

      • Rabindranauth says:

        I’ve read 2 of the PKD nominees, Reach for Infinity and Maplecroft. Maplecroft was disappointing, but there wasn’t a single story in Reach for Infinity I didn’t at least enjoy. And two of the other nominees that I can recall, Locus has listed under their best debuts of 2014. Right now I’m doing what I’ve been pushing off for months, reading my way through China Mieville’s bibliography 😀 So might probably leave them for next month.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Tammy says:

    You know you can buy Bete and A Man Lies Dreaming from The Book Depository, right? Maybe a little pricey but if you can’t wait…Thanks for that list, I was pleased to see The Boy Who Drew Monsters on it, which I loved.

    Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      Thanks for the tip! I did not know that about The Book Depository. I wonder how they manage that. I’ve seen them available from other retailers, but I want to make sure at least some of my cabbage is going to the authors. I prefer to have ebooks, but I may have to break down and go analog.

      That’s a second vote for Boy Who Drew Monsters. May have to check it out.

      Like

  3. thebookgator says:

    I need to get to Okorafor. I’d encourage The Last Policeman if your mood suits. The mystery pulls it along, making it a quick read. Still, it is not a comfortable series.

    Like

  4. romeorites says:

    WHY HAVE I NOT READ THE BOY WHO DREW MONSTERS?! THIS WILL SIMPLY NOT DO!

    Like

  5. All Those Vanished Engines…UGH. I tried and tried and tried and TRIED to read that book. I didn’t make it more than 20 pages. I really just hated it. Possibly there was a formatting issue with my copy, all sorts of things were italicized that didn’t make sense as such. Genre Bending said the same thing and at that point I gave up and decided it’s not me, it’s you (ie the book). The description had sounded so interesting and promising. Yeah. Didn’t play out.

    Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      Then I don’t feel so bad for not getting to it yet. I haven’t seen much talk about it elsewhere, come to think about it.

      Like

      • Yeah, for good reason. I bet Genre Bending and I weren’t the only two who couldnt finish it. Though somewhere I read a totally raving happy review about it. Which briefly made me feel I’d stupidly given up on a book just because it was smarter than me. But I call hogwash.

        Like

  6. wildbilbo says:

    Okorafor is on my BookRiot Read Harder list this year – I hadn’t picked a book yet, but I’d been leaning towards Who Fears Death. After your review of Lagoon I might change my mind…
    Cheers
    KT

    Like

  7. […] Oh, and finally, FINALLY, (because everything seems later than usual this year), Locus Online published its annual Recommended Reading List. I think I fared pretty well with my reading choices, but I had a few reading regrets. […]

    Like

  8. I’m looking forward to picking up the Locus magazine this week. I enjoy slowly making my way through their Recommended Reading issue.

    I loved Memory Garden. It is a certain “type” of book, that I don’t see appealing to everyone. Given that is a a girl’s coming of age story and featured mostly female characters, and had a lot to do with gardening, and this mostly SF-reading guy loved it, that must say something about her ability to engage the reader. Then again, I’m a sucker for books about relationships.

    I regret not getting to Wolves last year, but I do own it and will get to it at some point.

    Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      Considering you enjoy Jo Walton, and I enjoyed Among Others way more than I expected, I think I might like the “certain type of books” that you like. In other words, you just might be a good judge of girly SF 😉

      Can’t wait to see what you think of Wolves. It is quite gritty. Not sure if you’ll dig it.

      Like

      • I don’t necessarily mind grit as long as there is a point to it. I think some of the gritty, darker stuff written today is done just for the sake of doing it, more as a response to the kind of SF the author doesn’t like.

        Like

        • fromcouchtomoon says:

          Yes, it’s definitely a stylistic decision. Ings has been accused of having too much style, though that’s more of pointed commentary at his use of language and metaphor. But I actually think you’ll appreciate that, considering your love of Bradbury.

          Like

  9. […] uh, I don’t know if you noticed that all three of the novels I selected to illustrate my Locus Recommended Reading post got shortlisted this weekend. Aaand, two of them received […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

