Annihilation Wins a Nebbie!

southernreach1Toastmaster Nick Offerman thinks we should start calling them “Nebbies,” and I’m all for it.

I stayed up past my bedtime to watch the Nebula Awards online last night, which was more entertaining than some book award ceremonies I’ve seen. The comedian-hosted event was quick and somewhat funny, albeit a bit too heavy on the gay sex jokes and awfully light on any jokes remotely related to the content of the program. (There was a funny Three-Body Problem pick-up line he used. That’s about it.) I wish Offerman had been a bit more knowledgeable about the nominated books, but after the whole Jonathan Ross/Hugo controversy last year, I was happy to see SFWA welcome a comedian to the stage.

(Say what you want about Jonathan Ross, but I think he might have been daring enough to make some biting, underhanded quips about the whole SP affair.)

Joanna Russ won a posthumous Solstice Award, which Mary Anne Mohanraj accepted in her honor and shared some powerful anecdotes about working with Russ. And, in case we might worry that the ceremony was getting too cosmopolitan and sophisticated, Larry Niven, (dear, dear Larry Niven) won the Damon Knight Grand Master Award.

Other Winners:

Best Short Story: “Jackalope Wives” by Ursula Vernon

Best Novelette: “A Guide to the Fruits of Hawai’i” by Alaya Dawn Johnson (she also won the Andre Norton Award for Best YA novel)

Best Novella: Yesterday’s Kin by Nancy Kress

Best Novel: Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer

VanderMeer wasn’t present to accept his award, but his speech included an appeal for more attention to international, non-Anglocentric SF, and he also thanked fans for keeping him off the Hugo shortlist this year. Too funny.

Much as I had problems with Annilhilation, VanderMeer’s novel about fungal terroir-ism is the most deserving and Nebbie-rific novel in the category. I am pleased as pestilence-inducing, supernatural mildew that Annihilation won. And, after Chaos Horizon’s post this morning, I think perhaps Annihilation wasn’t weird enough for me and I need to try VanderMeer’s other works.

Click here for the full list of winners and nominees.

13 thoughts on “Annihilation Wins a Nebbie!

  1. thebookgator says:

    Is “dear, dear Larry Niven” uttered in the tone one refers to that doddering, antiquated uncle? Or in the “bless his heart” tone? 😀
    Sounds like a funny acceptance from VanderMeer. Nice post!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think perhaps Annihilation wasn’t weird enough for me
    Read VanderMeer’s Ambergris series. It holds up pretty well with Bas-Lag as some of the best weird fiction of the time. (Speaking of “fungal.”) Maybe it’ll be weird enough for you, but since I still haven’t read Southern Reach I don’t know how high the bar has been set.

    Shame that Russ didn’t receive this kind of recognition while she was alive, but sometimes it takes society a while to catch up to an author… Oh, and that wild and crazy Uncle Niven, bless his heart.

    Also, I like how so far everyone who has Liked that Chaos Horizon post are bloggers I read.

    Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      I keep hearing good things about the Ambergris books, so they will definitely be my next VanderMeer books.

      Considering I just discovered Russ this year, I am just as behind as the Nebulas. Must read more Russ, that’s for sure! As for Niven, I’m working on my Integral Trees post right now. I pick on the newly minted Grand Master a bit. Surprise!

      I love following Chaos Horizon! I’m usually not able to “like” them as often as I read them, just because I usually read them by email, instead of reader, but that’s the place to go for a good book award stats breakdown. Great stuff!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Very well deserved, I thought that was a great book. I didn’t think it was going to be for me AT ALL, but I was pleasantly surprised when I ended up loving it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      It wasn’t my favorite of last year, but it was certainly unforgettable. And when I think of all the 2014 novels I read, it seems to be the best choice as a recipient of a American-based peer award.

      But I thought it would land the Hugo, too. I’m curious to find out where it ranked among the non-shortlisted nominees.

      Like

  4. The mold obviously hasn’t finished with you yet. I recommend reading The Beauty and then VanderMeer’s City of Saints and Madmen and see if you don’t find a green fuzz slowly covering your skin…

    But Chris already mentioned this above. Having now had my initiation into Ambergris, I am really really into it. I mean, Southern Reach was fun and kind of creepy and I really liked that, but City of Saints and Madmen is waaay out of its league.

    Anyway. I am excited that it won too. I didn’t even realize they were being given out already. So once again, thanks for keeping me in the loop I would totally not even notice I was outside of.

    Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      So you’re saying fungal fiction will grow on me? Is that what you’re saying?

      I completely forgot about the Nebulas until I noticed the date this weekend. Otherwise, I would have put a little reminder in my monthly post. The Locus Awards are in a few weeks, btw!

      Like

      • I’m already covered in fungal fiction. I hear the mushroom people are developing fungal technology to spread spores via the internet, so you’re probably next.

        Putting the FUN back in FUNGAL.

        Gafffaw.

        Like

  5. Huh. I just left a comment and now it’s gone? Or is it just invisble? Harumph if I have to type that again. But the point was: City of Saints and Madmen (ie the Ambergris books) are in a whole other league than Southern Reach. I mean, I liked the Southern Reach a lot, but this is a whole other level of writing and awesome.

    Like

  6. It’s not gone! It’s there It’s there! Hahahaha. And now I have left three comments in a row. The spam bots will be coming for me soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      My bots like to screw with people. And they love to let the occasional spam get through, so you should be okay.

      Like

  7. […] the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for the wonderful The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, and Jeff VanderMeer won the Nebula (a Nebbie!) for […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

