Claire North wins the John W. Campbell Memorial Award!

TheFirstFifteenLivesofHarryAugustThe John W. Campbell Memorial Award was announced this weekend and Catherine Webb took the prize. The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August was easily one of the best and most satisfying SF novels of 2014 and well done to Catherine Webb (aka Claire North) for winning! Recognized on several shortlists, and competing against many well-deserved finalists for this particular award, I’m happy to see this well-written novel finally get some award recognition!

Here’s my quickie-review, and here’s more info on the award and the list of finalists.

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Claire North wins the John W. Campbell Memorial Award!

  1. Steph says:

    I keep meaning to read this but I haven’t gotten to it yet. It sounds like I need to I.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. And of course, this is the one you’ve been promoting that I haven’t bought… 🙂

    From your review, it’s a well deserved win!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tammy says:

    One more reason to read this!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have not read this one (yet) but I LOVED her book Touch.

    Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      I haven’t read Touch yet, but it seems like people who have read both tend to say they are both good, but Harry August is the best of the two. I hope you enjoy it!

      Like

  5. reading SFF says:

    I really must buy this one. It very much sounds like a novel I might like, but I keep forgetting to buy it.

    Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      I can’t imagine anyone not enjoying this book and I’ve seen the Kindle edition on sale for pretty cheap.

      Like

  6. Yey! I’m glad to hear it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. […] already covered, but Claire North won the John W. Campbell Memorial Award for the wonderful The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August, and Jeff VanderMeer won the Nebula (a […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

