Ten Great Books in Science Fiction at Science Book A Day

Babel-17 1stJackGlass1MemoirsofaSpacewoman1

George at Science Book A Day has kindly asked me to come up with a list of ten great science fiction books. This is in no way a complete list, but I tried to select a variety of books I’ve read in the past year that qualify as (mostly) science fiction (which means I left off the fantasy, slipstream, new weird, magic realism, speculative polemics, etc, etc, etc).

George, by the way, is a science education guru in Melbourne where he runs the Science Book A Day website and Big Ideas Book Club. The website is expanding to include book reviews, and he sometimes includes science fiction. George has been a friend of FC2M almost from the beginning, and his website is always a quick, daily reminder of the nonfiction that I should be reading.

Check out my list!

Thanks, George!

16 thoughts on “Ten Great Books in Science Fiction at Science Book A Day

  1. Tomcat says:

    Woo! I’ve read 3 of them (Roberts, Priest and North), and reviewed 2. That’s not bad… right? 🙂

    Like

  2. Great list. Also yet another reminder that I really need to read Adam Roberts. You’ve read more than one by him haven’t you? Where would you recommend starting?

    Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      Jack Glass is the only Adam Roberts fiction book I’ve read. I’ve been waiting (and waiting and waiting) for the US ebook version of Bête. I thought I saw it the other day but it must have been my imagination. It’s a beautiful enough book I might break down and buy the hardback, but then things and space and ugh.

      Just based on his prolific habits and tendencies toward parody, I suspect we haven’t yet seen the best we can get from Roberts. I imagine he’s like that kid in class who always has to be the first to turn in his maths assignments. It’s not a race! Rabi swears his short fic is brilliant, so maybe that’s the best place to start with him.

      Like

  3. Interesting list. I’ll give some of these à go.

    Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      In looking at your blog, you have a wide range of reading interests, so it seems like you would enjoy many of these. Considering your recent reads of Sherlock Holmes and A. E. Van Vogt, you might really dig Jack Glass, if you haven’t already read it.

      Like

  4. Joachim Boaz says:

    Hmm, what would be in my list….

    Like

  5. Joseph Nebus says:

    That does look like an intriguing set of books. I’ve read two of them, I think, although long ago.

    Like

    • fromcouchtomoon says:

      You are too correct. I try to do a good job of balancing the good and bad books, but I always end up with a few months of only lame titles. Such is the nature of mainstream genre publishing and award-watching. *shrugs*

      Like

  6. Nice list. I’ve read 4 and definitely agree, especially BABEL-17 and the underappreciated INVERTED WORLD. Five more are ones you convinced me to pick up, and one (MEMOIRS) has been on my wish list since Joachim reviewed it. So, very nice selection, lots of good stuff on there. I like the range of eras and styles.

    Like

Leave a Reply

