We barely put away the pumpkins and the post-election tissues and they’re already decorating for list-making season

Hey friends: How ya doin? How you holding up? Still breathing? British friends: Did we cause some retrauma over there? Some secondhand trauma? I’d give you all a nice one-armed side hug with a shoulder squeeze if I could.

I, thank the granfalloon, was busy most of last night, and by the time I got home it already wasn’t looking good. I had a minor moment of obsessive electoral count refreshing, but when Florida went all red, I went to bed. It was done. I’ve been through this before.

Some good news from this election:

  • Maine’s down-ballot Ranked Choice Voting initiative passed. I didn’t think it would, but it did, and I hope it’s contagious.
  • My red state went a little more purple. Ditch the Left and Far Left criticisms for a moment and celebrate this minor culture change.
  • The US rejected dynastic politics. This needs to keep happening. (Painful that it’s in exchange for Hollywood politics and the Supreme Court and inarticulate rhetoric and, you know, unapologetic racism and sexism.)

This is going to be an unpredictable next four years. Gordelpus all.

Anyway, my whole point in coming here was to tell you I made a list. George at Science Book a Day has been pals with FC2M almost since the beginning and his “Ten Great Books” series is always an intriguing exercise. I like the open-endedness of it: not Ten BEST Books, not Ten WHATEVER Books, just Ten GREAT Books. It’s a list I enjoy curating.

They get better and better and this is a good one: It’s been a good reading year.

(And, although I wrote this list a couple of weeks ago, that blurb about the Parable books is, sadly, still relevant. I was hoping it would be obsolete by the time it posted.)

After this, my blogging infrequency will continue. Single-book reviews are on hold for the season, but more lists and listicles and mini-reviews are headed your way.

Top Ten List of Lists I Might Do If I Get Around To It:

  • 10 months later, how about I review the Kitschies shortlists, finally, for fuck’s sake
  • My favorite vintage reads of the year
  • My favorite 2015 reads of the year
  • My favorite 2015 shortlists of the year
  • My favorite SF nonfic reads of the year
  • My favorite audiobook listens of the year
  • My most anticipated 2016 reads of the year that I have not yet read but am totally planning to read and probably starting soon
  • And the big FC2M annual retrospective (spoiler alert: I failed in many things this year, including counting to ten, and I’m totally okay with it.)

And, I’m working on a thing for someone over here and another thing for someone over there, so… I’ll let you know.

And if I don’t get around to it, I wish you all a blessed List-Making Season… it gets earlier and longer every year…

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “We barely put away the pumpkins and the post-election tissues and they’re already decorating for list-making season

  1. Tammy says:

    Lists! Yes. I love them too:-)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. antyphayes says:

    “Ditch the Left and Far Left criticisms for a moment “. You’re just no fun at all!

    Liked by 1 person

    • antyphayes says:

      Actually, I had no idea what you were talking about at first (“purple?”) before i checked my handy dandy interweb terminal. At first i though it was some sly reference to the changing marijuana laws in the US, perhaps one of the only good things to emerge out of all of this mess…

      Liked by 1 person

      • My state, Texas, is actually a blue state (Dem), but with lots of disenfranchised and unengaged voters. But the margin between red and blue votes was closer that it’s been in a while and get closer every election, so one of my main interests every election is watching how close the contest gets here, thus how much blue gets mixed in the red. Texas can’t be as conservative as people think; it doesn’t make sense.

        Liked by 1 person

    • None of this is fun at all. In fact, I just woke up and I feel none of this positivity today. I am quite terrified of the next four years.

      Like

  3. Peter S says:

    I’m terrified too, and I’m a Republican! Though I’m in New Hampshire so our Republicans tend to be the socially liberal, fiscally conservative type. It’s just unbelievable. Does someone have a red pill I can take?

    Like

  4. Joachim Boaz says:

    Yeah, not a good few days…. Not a good next couple of years. Terrifying.

    I look forward to your book lists!

    (you could always make, a top five novels recommended to me by Joachim list, hah, joking of course)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Widdershins says:

    ‘Gordelpus all.’ … I see what you did there. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Your red state is turning purple, but apparently so is the Rust Belt 🙂 I’m living in a red state for the first time since I was born. Politics is cyclical. This is a reaction to the Obama administration, which was a reaction against Bush and the neoconservatives, etc, and the blue votes will turn out in 2020 or 2024 as a reaction to whatever’s going on with the world then.

    Anyways! Lists! Everybody loves lists! Come up with a bunch of lists, and then let your readers vote on a List of Top X Couch Lists! Or vote on a list of lists that you should list.

    Liked by 1 person

    • All true, although I hope there’s a generational component in which the more diehard reactionaries are dying out, but it appears young white racists aren’t exactly rare.

      I wanted to do a Top Ten list of Top Ten lists last year, but there were so many good ones. Maybe I’ll do that this year 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      • I was going to mention that generational element, but it was in one of the various paragraphs of political commentary I didn’t want to dump into your comments section. I agree, as the Silents and Boomers die out, and as the post-Millennials age enough to vote, there will be another shift. I have to keep reminding myself that progress is gradual and generational.

        I want to see your Top Ten “Top Ten Lists” List, if only because I like saying that five times fast.

        Like

Leave a Reply

