Back to the Hugos: 1956

It’s Hugo Week! And I’m barely aware of what’s been nominated this year! So you know what that means… it’s time to go… Back to the Hugos!

Hugo Year: 1956

Sixty years ago. The year that ushered in the start of the Cuban revolution, Eurovision, and Pele’s career was also the year that established Bob Heinlein’s long career of undeserved Hugo best novel nominations and wins. This WorldCon was hosted by Robert Bloch at NyConII in New York City. Also of note, some kid named Robert Silverberg won the “Most Promising New Author” award.

The list:

Screenshot 2016-08-13 at 8.10.00 PM

Left to right: WINNER- DOUBLE STAR by Robert A. Heinlein, followed by NOT THIS AUGUST by CM Kornbluth, THE END OF ETERNITY by Isaac Asimov, THE LONG TOMORROW by Leigh Brackett, & THREE TO CONQUER by Eric Frank Russell

My retroactive ballot: Continue reading